Betting on Ice Hockey World Championships 2018

December 27, 2017

The Ice Hockey World Championships is just months away and here at Unibet we will be covering every match from the tournament live and in place.

The tournament takes place on 4 May in Denmark, with the final being played on 20 May in Copenhagen.

Here is your betting guide to the Ice Hockey World Championships 2018

What are the Ice Hockey World Championships?

The Ice Hockey World Championships are an annual international tournament that takes place in the summer.

The tournament runs as a league system, with promotion and relegation through the divisions.

The Championship is the top division and consists of 16 teams, which compete in a designated host nation. Below that, there are two Division 1 groups battling for promotion to the following year’s Championship. And bellow Division I there are two Division II grounds, and then one Division III group, all vying for promotion. The lower Divisions plays in venues all over the world.

The top eight teams in the Championship division move into a playoffs, which is a straight knockout. And the bottom two are relegated to Division I.

Sweden won the 2017 Ice Hockey World Championships after beating Canada 2-1 in a shootout. It was a dramatic and tense final in Cologne, watched by 17,300 spectators.

How to bet on ice hockey

Betting on ice hockey can be as straight froward as a win/lose match result. But, as there are no draws in ice hockey, overtime also comes into play.

Many sports betting fans like to stick with results, and the Ice Hockey World Championships is good for that as the league table often gives you an indication of who will likely win.

Goalscorer betting in ice hockey is also popular, as well as combination bets. These are usually results-based combinations, and Sweden and Canada should always be considered for this as they are the regular favourites to win the Ice Hockey World Championships.

Ice Hockey World Championships favourites

Canada and Sweden are the rightful favourites for the 2018 Ice Hockey World Championships.

Sweden will be defending champions following last year’s exploits and will hope to retain their title successfully for the first time since 1991/1992. But the Canadians won this medal in 2015 and 2016. They are favourites to win at the Winter Olympics and should be considered favourites here as well.

Russia, however, should not be discounted. They will not compete at the Winter Olympics and so will have many players determined to prove their worth on the world stage. Russia won gold in 2014 in Minsk and in 2012 in Helsinki. Russia were the ice hockey powerhouses during the Soviet Union era and, while they are not quite so dominant these days, are rightly considered as one of the favourites.

Bet on the Ice Hockey World Championships